Gen Con 2015

cthulhuGen Con 2015 may have started with some controversy thanks to Governor Mike Pence and that asinine Religious Freedom Bill, but in the end the organizers pulled off another epic celebration of gaming geekery.

This was my third trip down with my family, our second Sunday-only appearance. I have a day job that doesn’t afford a lot of time away from the salt mines. As such, my Gen Con experience, at least in the corporeal sense, is more of a nibble than a full course meal.

I do keep my ear to the rails though and I have a lot of good friends waist deep in the industry. So yeah, I’m aware of some minor (and some not-so-minor) guffaws.

Makes no difference.

Gen Con is a magnificent orchestration of near like-minded peoples. That, in and of itself, is a tremendous feat of geektastic engineering.

For our part, we spent the day browsing the dealers room and artists alley, scrounging for deals here and there, drooling over what we couldn’t afford, and pocketing what we could.

The good folks running the Paizo booth were as gracious as ever and get my vote for Publisher of the Con. I easily spent most of our club’s money there, not only because they offer great products, but because they go above and beyond to make you feel welcome.

My favorite dealer was the cool cats at Medieval Collectibles, who sold Connor an expertly crafted foam bastard sword. Dealing in awesome medieval replicas and LARP clothing and weapons, they sure as hell captured my (almost) twelve year old son’s imagination (and my wallet). We spent a good chunk of Sunday night perusing their website for future online purchases.

crom

The most anticipated game teased on the dealers floor was easily Conan: Rise of Monsters, a pre-painted miniatures skirmish game that pits King Conan of Aquilonia and his Circle of Iron against the nefarious might of the dread Thoth Amon and his Legion of Set.

Best Cosplay has got to go that freaking Cthulhu pictured up top. I mean, come on…

I only have a couple of regrets, mainly in regard to people I didn’t see and had hoped to and a few purchases I would have liked to have made if my wallet had just been a little fatter.

Gen Con is one of the highlights of the year for us now and, I suspect, will continue to be so for many more years to come. Hopefully, in the future, we’ll be able to immerse ourselves more fully into the experience.

Leave a Reply

