The Occult Detective RPG: Aftermath

HPIM2056

Utilizing Mansions of Madness tiles and various other cobbled together pieces from a sundry of board and roleplaying games, Connor and I took the Occult Detective RPG for a spin yesterday. I think the experience can be best summed up by my wife’s reaction when she came home and walked in on us mid-game.

“Why are you two smiling so much?”

Well, the answer, my dear, is simple, we were having a blast.

Granted, some of the unique mechanics I’d dreamed up never came into play which means they didn’t get playtested. That’s a bad thing. But for an overall gaming experience, it felt like an awesome hybrid of some of my favorite RPGs with some board game elements that already has me rethinking the overall direction I want to take this in.

odrpgbg

I’m trying to pull off a board game that plays like an RPG. Or is it an RPG that plays like a board game?

Darn it, now I’m confused.

No matter, the right sentiment is in play.

What last night’s game session proved to me is that I’m on the right track. Sure, it’s back to the drawing board, but that’s where I’d rather be anyway.

2 responses to “The Occult Detective RPG: Aftermath

Leave a Reply

