Jeffrey Catherine Jones

jcj4

Five years ago today Jeffrey Catherine Jones crossed over from this world to the next. She was 67 years old.

jcj2

I’m not sure when I first became aware of her as an artist, but I think it must have been from the cover of Peter Saxon’s The Curse of Rathlaw, a book I stumbled upon at a yard sale when I was a wee lad of ten.

I bought it for a dime without cracking the spine. That cover illustration was all I needed to see…

Jones’ artwork to me seemed to be a perfect marriage between the elegance of John Waterhouse and the primal fire of Frank Frazetta.

Her paintings were works of beauty, but they were also visceral and terrifying.

 

Jeffrey Catherine Jones (10 January 1944 – 19 May 2011) is sorely missed, but her immortality is assured. Jones’ works will continue to inspire artists for generations to come, defining that divine union between graceful symmetry and ferine design.

jcj1

Leave a Reply

