Rollin’ Thunder

dndlogoI’m sure you’ve all caught wind by now of Wizards of the Coast’s huge D&D announcements from Meltdown. I have definite interest in Volo’s Guide to Monsters. You can put that on my must-have list. The rest?

Okay, I admit, I have some interest in Storm King’s Thunder, D&D’s merger of King Lear and Against the Giants. I will assuredly pilfer the maps, npcs, and monsters for my own purposes. The story? Not so much.

Cool poster though:

HekatonPoster

I am also somewhat keen on the batch of minis set to roll out from Wizards. Thri-kreen, Giants of all stripes, various npcs, and the like would all find a place at my table, without a doubt. I’ll keep an eye on them as they hit ebay and cherry pick the lot.

No interest in Neverwinter coming to PS4.

I am cautiously eyeing Force Grey, the latest Wizards actual play, DMed by Matthew Mercer. I am unabashedly a huge fan of Mercer’s Critical Role, but the majority of these Force Grey players have me nervous.

For one thing, I’m not that into newbies playing the game for my entertainment. It’s why I couldn’t make it through Titansgrave ot Chris Perkins’ Dice, Camera, Action! Too much time spent by Perkins’ telling people how to play their character or Wheaton fumbling awkwardly through the same issues on his show.

GiantFrostAdmittedly, Mercer has to do a bit of steering of the Crit Crew on occasion, but it’s nowhere near as bad as Perkins or Wheaton faced.

I’ll give it a shot.

Of course I’m all in for Acquisitions Inc (and the Harmonquest Pathfinder show).

It sure does seem there’s a whole bunch of actual plays going on. When they’re done right, it’s far better than most tv out there and I find it helpful for players by showing them another way of getting into character. It encourages better roleplay.. and that’s a bloody good thing.

So, anyway, those are my thoughts.

RuneDeathMore D&D is a good thing. I haven’t loved any of Wizards’ seasons so far, but I haven’t hated any of them either. They’re still putting out a quality product and pacing the splat.

I think they’re doing all right, overall.

Do I wish I had a voice in it? Yeah, in a way I do, but I love the groups I’m in now and that’s more than enough challenge for me…

Leave a Reply

