Day 1: Roll ’em if ya got ’em #RPGaDay

rpgaday2016large

Day One: Real dice, dice app, diceless, how do you prefer to ‘roll’?

I’m surprised there is even a debate over this. The correct answer is dice. Always dice.

Admittedly, I have a sickness. I have far more dice than I need to play this game. I’ve dozens of full sets and near countless extra bits of every polyhedron you can imagine. But especially d6s. I’ve got a veritable mountain of them.

I have them in bone, ivory, plastic, wood, and metal.

I have them in every colour of the rainbow and some not found in nature.

I have them with numbers, pips, and symbols.

d20But do you know what I don’t have? My favorite set… They were stolen a dozen years back. They were black with red numbers. If you go through all my dice, you’ll not find any black with red numbered dice. And you never will.

Those dice were irreplaceable.

I bought them in 1980 at Redbeard’s Books and I played with them for over 20 years.

They are sorely missed.

So yeah, I always defer to real dice. You need to be able to reach out and touch them, connect with them, speak with them and they with you.

Dice are an extension of your will. They are your sword and shield, your spell book and holy symbol, your thieves’ tools and magic potion.

I’ll not see my fate left in the hands of an online random number generator.

I choose to roll the bones.

 

 

2 responses to “Day 1: Roll ’em if ya got ’em #RPGaDay

  1. A theft of any kind is a low act, but for such a personal item…? Sorry to hear that that happened.

    Thanks for participating in RPGaday. I am looking forward to more from you as the month goes on~

    Like

Leave a Reply

