#RPGaDay Day 8: Hardcover, Softcover, or Digital?

rpgaday2016large

Day 8: Hardcover, Softcover, or Digital? Which is your preference?

dendnd

Let’s get this out of the way: I prefer hardcover, plain and simple. Softcover and digital have always felt disposable to me. Not that there’s anything wrong with that, but a hardcover feels like forever, like it has weight and permanence and value, while other formats are perishable…

I’ve no comment to add in regard to softcover, as they are just a lesser (albeit cheaper) version of their hardcover cousin, but digital is another matter.

Digital rulebooks and modules have a couple of positives that keep them in my arsenal.

For starters, they are bloody convenient. As we begin to play more and more online via Roll20, seeing as how you’re planted on the computer already, having the pdfs pulled up in an awaiting tab is not such a bad thing. To be honest, though, I usually have the hardcovers lying there, opened up, and ready and use them more often, but I still keep things available onscreen as well.

Secondly, search features, bookarks, and highlights generally make finding things in a digital book a breeze. Hard to argue that, but, when you live and breathe a hardcover, you generally know where something is by feel or intuition.

Since so much time is spent online, being able to cut and paste from a pdf is another bonus.

I have hundreds of gaming pdfs stored on a flashdrive for quick and easy access.

In a perfect world, they’d all be shelved in my den (or better yet, my game tavern). Of course, then, I couldn’t carry them all in my pocket.

Leave a Reply

