#RPGaDay Day 11: Which Gamer most affected the way you play?

rpgaday2016large

Day 11: Which gamer most affected the way you play?

I’ve never been much of a fan of modules. Those early ones from TSR were poorly written and ill-conceived for the most part. I liked them for the maps, preferring to create my own stories around them. I was enchanted by the idea of world-building from the start, but I didn’t really come into my own until college.

brent

The late great Brent Smith had a lot to do with that.

Brent and I came into the hobby about the same time in the late 70s and it really helped cement our lifelong friendship.

As college roommates we had ample time to get into to all sorts of trouble in a million different ways, but we still found time for gaming, oft times playing out solo adventures.

I built a world around his character, a ranger prince, and through that world I learned a lot about storytelling, delving into the intricacies of politics, not only between nations, but classes and races as well.

Brent affected the way I play Dungeons & Dragons, and RPGs in general, by inspiring me to create elaborate, intricate worlds, and by his willingness to travel down the rabbit hole with me.

Brent’s been gone for a little over a year and a half now and his absence is still greatly felt at the table.

Leave a Reply

