#RPGaDay Day 31: Best advice?

rpgaday2016large

Day 31: The best advice you were ever
given for your game of choice?

This is it — the final question for RPGaDay 2016. It’s been a fascinating experience and I’ve enjoyed reading other people’s responses as much as I’ve enjoyed answering this year’s selection of questions. Thanks to Runeslinger and everyone at RPG Brigade for keeping Autocratik’s vision alive.

Now, on to answering what the best advice I’ve received is.

You know, I’ve been a DM for so long, 38 years this Christmas, that I’m not sure I received any advice beyond those early words handed down from on high. I took them to heart as a twelve year old boy and I believe they ring just as true today.

“…as DM you are to become the Shaper of the Cosmos. It is you who will give form and content to the all the universe. You will breathe life into the stillness, giving meaning and purpose to all the actions which are to follow.” — Gary Gygax

This quote has served me well, because it has instilled in me a sense of purpose and direction in my campaigns. They are living worlds, populated by npcs with their own hopes, dreams, and ambitions. They have lives every bit as relevant as those of the player characters. This allows the players to submerge themselves into the world and strips away the game aspect. It becomes an alternate life for them for those few hours each month that they enter it. It is the ultimate escape.

And that’s it for this year… now it’s back to working on Occult Detective: The Roleplaying Game. That Magic System’s not going to create itself… or is it?

Leave a Reply

