#RPGaDay2017 Day 10: Where do you get your RPG reviews?

rpg_a_day_2017

Day 10: Where do you get your RPG reviews?

To be honest, this is not something I scurry after. Most RPG related items I buy are not really in need of a review. I buy flip-maps and tiles, miniatures, dice, and the like. That’s the sort of stuff you typically buy based on appearance.

Books and games I buy are usually purchased based on IP.

I don’t need a review to tell me to buy Adventures in Middle-Earth or Conan.

When I bought into Dungeons & Dragons’ 5th Edition, I didn’t do so because it was well reviewed. I did so because it’s D&D. I own the core books from all the editions, and will most likely continue to do so.

I purchased Pathfinder’s Occult and Horror Adventures because of theme, not review.

I like to read rules. If you’ve packaged it correctly and it’s a subject that tickles my fancy, I’ll buy into it out of curiosity. A reviewer’s opinion never comes into it.

Leave a comment